What is life, if full of care
we have no time to stand and stare

I’ve always dreamed of being an explorer and to put it in grander terms a ‘globe trotter’, of course that dream as of now remains unaccomplished but I’ve started small, very small.
Most Bengalis (Natives of West Bengal, India) follow this tradition of holidaying at least once a year, rich or poor, young or old, one holiday trip in the summers and another in the Durga Puja vacation is a must.
The year 2012, was the first time when my desire to travel began taking a distinct form.
I, along with my mom and dad were holidaying in Puri beach, Odisha in October 2012.
I’ve always fancied myself to be a nature-lover with poets like Wordsworth, Henry Davies predominantly shaping my outlook as an ‘idealist’.
I was 16 that year and we were strolling along the length of the beach, and I was feeling particularly adventurous that evening.
I walked along, by myself, as long as I could go and came across this lighthouse at a secluded end of the beach, this place beautifully quiet and peaceful and this is where I knew I had found ‘my spot’.

Light house at Kapu beach near Udupi The Lighthouse.

So, I was there, present in the beach in this part where no one was around with my feet digging into the moist sand and the warm sea breeze with the occasional spray of foam from the waves that lashed at my feet.
PURI2 Sunset, 5.38pm
PURI3 5.55pm

It was as if time had stopped, for one precious moment I felt exuberant, there I was drinking in the setting sun, the deep hues of orange and vermillion colouring the sky, For that timeless moment I had no worries, no responsibilities and no one to please but myself. That was one moment I felt what it was like to be truly happy.

No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,
And watch her feet, how they can dance.

No time to wait till her mouth can
Enrich that smile her eyes began.

A poor life this is if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare

And more importantly, that was a day of realizations.
That happiness is found in the least of things, they gush in all of a sudden, catching you by surprise and then leave you, fulfilled and at peace, making one realize the value of the small things in life, which ignored in the daily bustle of life add up to be of the greatest importance in the end. Because in the end, peace and quiet is all that matters which no business-class trip, no amount of money and no five star hotel luxury can offer.
True peace and happiness is that tiny key in your bunch, waiting to be given a chance, waiting to unlock the floodgates of intrinsic bliss. Notice it, open the lock with the seemingly unimportant key before it gradually rusts to nothingness.

2 thoughts on “The Day Time Stood Still

Leave a Reply

