The Eve of Night’s Reign

I watched the lonely bird disappear in the horizon
The Queen dispatched the warm orange of her day’s Sun to pursue it.
The kingdom of Sky was an endless canvas of yellow,
the occasional orange and red streaking across.

The soft breeze, like satin caressed my skin.

Those were the telltale signs
The time had come.

The dying rays of Sun directed my pursuit
leading me into the canopy of your dwelling
among the trees that stood tall and somber.

I thought I heard the familiar rustle of the leaves
like the forest was waking from it’s enchanted slumber

Had you come for me?

I reached out for you.
Sure enough a branch of oak encircled my waist.
The light is failing fast.
I turn around in your arms
looking through the dimness
into the dark brown of your eyes,
partly concealed under the yards of chestnut.

The musk of pine in your breath entices my senses
the deep wheat of your skin reflects the last of the golden light.

In a tremulous outreach I pick a fly-away leaf from your rippling mass of chestnut.
A hint of a smile playing in the corner of your mouth.

Then in a swish of your cloak
–a kiss on my lips
–a click of of your heels
you’re gone again

Back in the open

The Sun has gone — not into oblivion.
The Queen has retrieved her forces.
Somewhere a monotonous bird calls to it’s mate
The fly-away leaf lays in my open palm, gazing.
The sounds of the forest are returning

I think I hear a thousand hooves
A war horn screams afar — in glorious victory.
The King is here to reign.
Her day is stepping aside.

The kingdom of Sky welcomes the pearly calm of Moon
And the King rides in with his vast, bellowing cloak of midnight blue.

Leave a Reply

